Meet Sophie

I have always been a fan of the underdogs.  The scrappy ones.  The fighters.  The ones who aren’t suppose to win but do.  I think it is because I have normally been an underdog, the type of person that people under estimate.  I also have a weak spot for strays.  It doesn’t matter if they are animals or people.

It was just a normal night in the Summit house, when my roommate and one of our friends came back with a little bundle.  She had climbed up into a farmers engine to stay warm, and ended up riding all the way into the city with him.  Until he stopped at a gas station and she climbed out and found my friends.  They brought her back to our house.  I held her in my arms and it was love at first sight.

Frozen cuties.gif

Don’t take me for some crazy cat lady, but I couldn’t help but feel like we were meant to find each other.  That in some way we belonged together.  I just knew from the very moment I held her, that I was never going to let her go.

Sophie

I know I told you, it was love at first sight, and I was not going to let anyone take her from me.  It was not without challenges though.  I had to convince my roommates, some were easier than others.  Next came a very well planned out speech to my landlord.  There was a lot of uncertainty during that week, and with that came the tears at the thought of losing her.  But my some miracle, probably the same one that brought us to each other, she became officially mine.

She makes it easy to love her.  She is the sweetest and most fearless cat I have met.  She will love anyone.  The only time she ever makes noise is when she is purring.  She sometimes follows me around like a little puppy dog.  Its quick adorable.

I took her to her first vet visit last night.  I had guessed she was probably about 6 months old.  To my surprise the vet told me that at not even 5 lbs, little Sophie was already about a year old.  She did not grow normally due to being malnourished during her first year, and it was likely that she would never grow to be the size of normal cats.  To break my heart further, the vet also told me that the tip of her tail had fallen off due to frostbite.   And she currently didn’t have enough muscle mass to be able to hold her tail up.  He gave her medicine for her respiratory infection, ear mites, and roundworm. She was a trooper through all of it.

I think that is why I fell in love with her right away.  I could tell she was ridiculously tough but also immensely sweet.  A combination which is just as rare in cats as it is in humans.

It breaks my heart to think of her being cold and all alone with out any food.  How can something so sweet and little have such a hard life behind her?  We are also just starting the heart of South Dakota winters.  Meaning we have negative temperatures with windchill making it even colder.  I can’t help but thinking that if I hadn’t found her when I did, she would have likely not survived the winter.

I think it can be easy to save that I saved her.  While that is true, I think it is more accurate to say that she saved me.  I can’t explain it other than she has just made my life better.  Sometimes I think she is a little angel sent to me in cat form.  I know she will always be in my corner, because she is a fighter like me.

She is my little badass survivor.

Sophie 2

 

 

5 thoughts on “Meet Sophie

  1. This brought tears to my eyes. From now forward though she will hopefully only know love and good health. Have you named her?

  2. Pingback: Links To Some Uplifting Posts (1-11-2016) | My Daily Musing

Leave a Reply

