Beautiful Whimsy

Being a senior has led to the usual well meaning question of what I am going to do upon receiving my diploma in May.  This question tends to leave me floundering try to think of something to say that makes it sound like I am planning some great heist for my future.  Then I realize that I have no such heist planned and I admit defeat as I answer like most seniors, “I don’t know.”  Maybe it is just my A-type personality, but I don’t like that this answer requires me to admit defeat.  Since when do I have to have my life planned out at the age of 22?   Can’t I just enjoy being young and whimsical with an open door of all the possibilities of where I will end up in my life?  I mean it is not like I don’t have dreams that are turning into a semblance of a plan.  If you know me well, then you know that I have way too many ambitious and even slightly ludicrous dreams that is healthy for someone of my stature.  But I do not completely have my head in the clouds.  I know that it is completely ridiculous to think that all of aspirations will come true the moment I receive my diploma.  I have accepted that achieving my dreams is going to take time and hard work; I just wish that everyone else would accept that too.  Now I don’t mean to sound like I hate every person who asks me what I am going to do after I graduate.  I know that they just generally care and want to know what is going on in my life.  And you know what, I appreciate that I really do.  I have been blessed to have so many people in my life who care about me, and it would be childish of me to take that for granted.  That being said, I am a control freak.  So the fact that I have come to a place in my relationship with God that I have been able trust him to figure out my future has not been an easy task. 

Add to that someone asking me every other day what I am going to do and the dozens of law schools that keep emailing me.  Is it any wonder I have a daily minor freak out that I haven’t figured out my life yet.  But you know what, that is normal, beautiful in fact.  At the age of 22 do you know how awful it sounds to have your entire life planned out before you even start it?  Ugh, might as well put me in my casket now.  Please don’t squelch my chance to live a life filled with endless open doors by forcing me to pick one.  Please accept like I have that God has a plan for my life, and that when the time is right things will fall into place.  As a wise friend once told me, “Why doubt an obvious path that is in front of you.”  God has a plan for my life, I may not know what the plan is but I know that it is there.  So for all of you reading this, I want you to know that it is okay to not have all the answers to what your future holds.  Hold on to your faith and dreams because those are going to be what guides you on this journey, but realize that it is a journey and live it as such.  Don’t get too caught up in your dreams for someday that you forget to live in the opportunities that you are presented with today.  The end of your journey will come soon enough, so for crying out loud stop wasting all of your time worrying about it and go do something whimsical. 

“I think a father’s job, when it’s done best, is to get down on both knees, lean over his children’s lives, and whisper, ‘Where do you want to go?’ Every day God invites us on the same kind of adventure. It’s not a trip where He sends us a rigid itinerary, He simply invites us. God asks what it is He’s made us to love, what it is that captures our attention, what feeds that deep indescribable need of our souls to experience the richness of the world He made. And then, leaning over us, He whispers, ‘Let’s go do THAT together.” – Bob Goff

Leave a Reply

