Being the Change

“Everyone thinks of changing the world, but no one thinks of changing themselves.” -Leo Tolstoy

“Be the change that you wish to see in the world.” – Mahatma Gandhi

If two illustrious social reformers such as Tolstoy and Gandhi both consider the foundation of social reform to be first reforming ourselves and you combine that with a section from possibly my favorite Bible passage:

“No, this is the kind of fasting I want:
Free those who are wrongly imprisoned;
lighten the burden of those who work for you.
Let the oppressed go free,
and remove the chains that bind people.
Share your food with the hungry,
and give shelter to the homeless.
Give clothes to those who need them,
and do not hide from relatives who need your help.” – Isaiah 58:6-7

The only logical conclusion we can draw from this is that we as humans are not meant to sit and do nothing while the world around us suffers. Too often people complain about the way the world is without ever having the intent on doing anything about it.  I am not saying that it is bad to talk about problems in the world, but there comes a point when we need to stop talking and starting acting.  Unfortunately it seems that many people do not make it past that point.

I had talked and thought about the issue of sex trafficking for a while before deciding to start Scribbles of Hope.  Random sidenote: I am still working up the courage to share as to why the issue of sex trafficking is so important to me.  Currently only one person knows (shout out to my girl Alicia for being one of the best listeners I know) and it is not something that I am ready to share with whoever happens to read my blog.  Please do not be offended that I have not told you as it is very personal and I am the type of person who easily shares those type of things.  However, I might be willing to tell it to you over a cup of coffee, especially if it looks like this:

That turned out to be a long side note, sorry about that.  Anyways as I was saying, I had cared about the issue of sex trafficking for a long time before I decided to do anything about it.  And I have learned that it is a lot easier to talk about change when are doing something more than just talking about change.  I have also learned that if you care about something as much as I care about the issue of sex trafficking, it will make you miserable to not be doing anything about it.  As I said, we were not made to watch the world suffer.

Taking it a step further, we can’t change the world if we ourselves do not walk the proverbial walk.  We can’t complain about the injustices in our society if we ourselves are part of the problem.  We can’t ignore the problems right under our noses, and we can’t be part of the problem by being self centered and hateful towards others.  I am not trying to lecture you, because these are things that I am guilty of as well.  But I want you to realize we can’t continue to complain about the world if we continue to ignore the suffering of our neighbor and look down at those less fortunate than us.  There is something to be said for wanting to make the world a better place.  Some people may think that believing you change the world is naive.  I disagree.  Yes it is naive to think one can change the whole world.  We need to first find our corner of the world we want to change.  For me it is women that have been tricked, used, abused, treated worse than livestock, and endured horrors worse than I can even imagine.  But for you it might be something completely different, and that is ok.  It is good actually, because if we all change our little corner then soon we will run out of corners.  So I urge you stand up for what we believe in, fight for something worth fighting for, and really fight for it.  I promise you it will be worth your time; who knows you might just change the world.

Leave a Reply

